Dean’s Statement

The main academic units and facilities of the faculty are located in a number of buildings at the Nsukka campus of the University. On Owere-Eze Road is carver building , the original home for the entire faculty, which now houses the Dean’s office, some of the offices ,classrooms and laboratories of the department of physics and astronomy and pure and industrial chemistry. During reconstruction work during Prof. Bathlome Okolo’s Administration, the department of Geology with its facilities, and some physics, chemistry and computer science laboratory that were located in the Jimbaz building at intersection of George Johnson Street

Brief History

History of the faculty; the faculty of physical sciences was created out of the former faculty of sciences in the 1973/74 academic year. In other word, it is known as faculty of science at the inception of the university in 1960. The faculty of physical sciences is made up of seven Departments:

  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Geology
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of physics and Astronomy
  • Department of Pure and Industrial Chemistry
  • Department of Statistics
  • Science Laboratory Technology

Contact Us

Call us

+234 7061182286

Contact us

Prof. Ogbonnaya Igwe (